[Iman’s 30-Day Blogging Challenge – Day #21] Stories in the Kitchen

Tweaking recipes, ‘healthifying’ junk food, creating new dishes – these are some of my favourite food-related hobbies. Besides eating, of course.

To me, cooking is a lot like writing.

For instance, coming up with a recipe is like coming up with an idea for my write-up. It serves as a guideline, yet gives me the freedom to think outside the box and modify things if I want to; maybe I could water-saute my veggies instead of frying them in oil, or break up a long sentence into two shorter, punchier ones.

Of course, I make plenty of mistakes.

I’ve burnt, over-seasoned and under-cooked. I’ve been too boring, too vague or too verbose.

I’ve had to throw out inedible dishes, and I’ve had to throw out scrunched-up pieces of my writing drafts.

But there are brighter days, too.

Sometimes I surprise myself. I cook up mouthwatering delights. I write thought-provoking pieces.

Both require a lot of practice and trial and error. Oh, and patience. Lots of it.

Serving perfection

On both paper and platter,

Minds, bellies content.

(I was inspired by yesterday’s post and wanted to attempt Haiku again šŸ˜‚)

One thought on “[Iman’s 30-Day Blogging Challenge – Day #21] Stories in the Kitchen

Leave a comment